Tiny Witch Hunter

Quite some time ago, I can’t really remember when, I was bouncing around The Internet when I came across the following image:

I thought it was pretty cool, so I took a copy, and hid it away on my PC. I’ve long hankered after a Morini – they just looked quirky, and while sluggish even by the standards of the day, if I want to go fast I’ll take my 675 out. I kind of kept half an eye out just in case anything turned up, but it never did, and I wasn’t *that* keen that I wanted to invest a lot of money, so I just quietly shelved the idea. I kept the image though, as I still thought it was cool. (I’ve since found out that it was created by a friend, Ian, for a T-shirt a few years ago – nice one Ian). Life continued as it normally did, and I bimbled along in my own little world.

But then, things went rather horribly wrong. I still don’t really understand why, but I found myself sitting on a railway line at about 2am, waiting for, well, just waiting for things to happen. Luckily (as it turns out) I must have picked a night with engineering works on the local line, as after about 45 minutes I got cold so I went back home. I woke early the next morning to a beautiful morning of crystal clear sunshine and limitless horizons, so I stole out of the house early, and went for a long walk in the country. And at every bloody level crossing I came to I had to wait while a honking great freight train went screaming past. The Gods were playing with me. A few days later, probably unsurprisingly, I had a complete breakdown. Thanks to The Lovely Faye and some good friends, I’m still here. And once I’d admitted to myself that I needed help, I went out to do something to fix my head. And while I’m at the very start of this process, at least I can now see it as a process that I need to go through, to see right through to the end, and come out of the other side, hopefully in better shape than I started it.

As should be pretty obvious from anyone who’s ever read any of this stuff, I’m really at my most content when I’m pottering around in the garage, working on a project. So a plan was hatched. I was going to get a rubbish old bike to rebuild, and as I normally do, I’d write about it. Only this time, there would be obvious parallels with my mental health. I’d be taking something that needed taking apart, kicking it into shape, and putting it back together properly again. And then wouldn’t you know it, this photo turned up:

Obviously, it was just what I needed. Only it was in an auction (a proper auction, not eBay) so there was a fair bit of toing and froing setting up accounts, uploading proof of identification etc. etc. This was a bit of a trial if I’m honest, but the end result is that I picked up the Dart from Silverstone Auctions this morning. This was made a million times easier thanks to the huge generosity of James, driving half way across the country at short notice in his van, just to help me out. Thanks mate – I really appreciate that more than you know. Mind you, he was like a kid in a sweetshop looking at all the other cars and bikes that had been auctioned. I think there was a bit of a moment over a DB6 SuperLeggera.

If I’m honest, I suspect that the Dart wouldn’t have been the first Morini that I’d have chosen, but the more I look at it, the more I realise that it’s perfect for me. Slightly scruffy, still firmly rooted in the 1980s, and a bit slow. Obviously, it needs work, but again, that’s the point of this project. It’s going to take time. There will be ups and downs. There will, I’m sure, be times when it all gets a bit much and I just want to give it all up. But I’m determined that when the good times, and the bad times come, I’ll be holding my hands up to either celebrate, or ask for help. I’m not very good at either of these things, so please do bear with me while I make a colossal arse of myself. Of the two ongoing projects, I’ll probably write more about the bike rebuild than the head rebuild. That said, I’ll happily talk to anyone who wants to talk to me about either.

More to come. This is just the start. I think I’m in this for a long haul.

4 thoughts on “Tiny Witch Hunter

  1. […] it? But I think it’s about time I wrote something new – a year ago yesterday I wheeled the Morini into the garage, and made public my mental health struggles. And while since then I’ve written interminably […]

    Like

Leave a comment